Skip to content

Should You Attend a Gay Wedding? (part 1)

September 17, 2012

Several of my friends recently have been invited to gay weddings. I have yet to be invited to one, but I am helping those close to me think through this topic. The thing that has surprised me is the advice my friends are receiving. I think this is an area that will illustrate how the Contrarian Planter should think, so I am going to write a series of posts on this. For part 1 today, I will lay the basic framework that I believe We all agree on. In part 2 I will present the argument I hear for attending gay weddings. In part 3 I will present the argument I hear for not attending gay weddings. And in part 4 I will present the Contrarian view. So let’s lay the groundwork…

1. I’m writing this for Christians. I think this should be obvious, since this is a blog for church planters. But to be clear, I don’t expect non-Christians to agree with everything I write or to apply it to their lives. So everything I write will be an attempt to understand the Bible, because the Bible is the Christian’s guide.

2. Jesus tells us in Matthew 22.39 the 2nd greatest commandment is to love our neighbors. 1 John of the Bible explains that love is the defining trait of a Christian, and that anyone who doesn’t love doesn’t know God. So our goal in answering this question is determining the best way to express love.

3. The Bible teaches that marriage is between a man and a woman. I know there are people who say they believe the Bible and do not agree with this statement. However, I agree with the orthodox understanding of marriage. Jesus himself addresses this in Matthew 19.4-5: “Haven’t you read the Scriptures?” Jesus replied. “They record that from the beginning ‘God made them male and female.’” And he said, “‘This explains why a man leaves his father and mother and is joined to his wife, and the two are united into one.’” There is a place to debate this, but this is the understanding I’m working with for this series.

4. Our ultimate goal as Christians is to help others give their lives to Christ. Jesus states in Luke 19.10 that his purpose was to seek and save the lost. the great commission in Matthew 28 instructs us to make disciples of all nations. We will all stand before the judgment seat of Christ. We will all spend eternity somewhere. So it’s imperative that whatever we do is in light of eternity.

So that’s the groundwork. If i’m overlooking anything let me know. But I will attempt to explain both the ‘for’ and ‘against’ side of attending gay weddings in the next 2 posts.

Leave a Reply

